Vegetarian and Vegan Goals
ShopWell has added two new goals for users to select, vegetarian and vegan. You can modify your profile to select these new goals.
- Initially if you select the Vegetarian or Vegan preference all animal products: meat, poultry, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, and animal byproducts will be selected as categories to Avoid.
- You can uncheck, or unselect, any food groups that you do eat to make sure those foods all allowed in your diet when using ShopWell. For example, if you are a vegetarian who eats eggs and milk but no other animal products then you will uncheck the boxes for Egg and Milk in the Allergies & Intolerances section of your profile. This will allow products made with Eggs and Milk to show a score when you scan or browse for food items. ShopWell will flag products to avoid that contain other animal or animal-based ingredients that you want to avoid.
- If you follow a vegan diet, you likely avoid all food products that contain animals or are animal-based that are selected in the Vegan goal. Honey will also be checked as a food category to Avoid for Vegans. You may unselect it if you do eat honey as part of your diet. Honey is a sweetener that some vegetarians and vegans chose to eat and others choose to avoid. We have given honey its own category so that you can decide for yourself where you want to include or exclude honey from your daily food choices.
Corn Added to Allergies & Intolerances
Corn allergy has been added as a food allergen in the Avoids section of a user’s profile on ShopWell. Corn allergy is not one of the common allergens responsible for most allergic reactions. However, some evidence in recent years shows that people can have an allergic response or show intolerance to a specific protein found in corn. Certain food ingredients that are derived from corn are processed to an extent that there are minimal or no corn protein residues and should be safe for someone with a corn allergy.
A user who selects Corn as an Allergy in their profile on ShopWell will see foods flagged to be avoided based on ingredients that contain the corn protein allergen in quantities thought to promote an allergic response. If you feel you have an allergic reaction to corn you should be seen by a medical professional for diagnosis and appropriate treatment recommendations. You can also read more about Corn Allergy on the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology and the Food Allergy Research and Education websites.